Blogathon #47 – Take the Pledge… And Pledge!

Before anyone can take part in a Soulforce action, that person must sign and promise to adhere to the Soulforce Nonviolence Pledge. This oath, originally written by Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., was reconfigured for the direct-action group in 2003. It follows:

The Pledge to Nonviolence

  1. As I prepare for this direct action, I will meditate regularly on the life and teachings of Gandhi and King and other truth-seekers.
  2. I will remember that the nonviolent movement seeks justice and reconciliation-not victory.
  3. I will walk and talk in the manner of love and nonviolence.
  4. I will contemplate daily what I can do so that all can be free.
  5. I will sacrifice my own personal wishes that all might be free.
  6. I will observe with friend and foes the ordinary rules of courtesy.
  7. I will perform regular service for others and for the world.
  8. I will refrain from violence of fist, tongue, and heart.
  9. I will strive to be in good spiritual and bodily health.
  10. I will follow the directions of the squad leaders and other Soulforce leaders on our nonviolent direct actions.

______________________________________
(Your Name)

_______________________
(Date)

It’s a great code of ethics for civil disobedience, but it makes for a great roadmap for traversing the byways of everyday life. Take the words to heart and put them to work for yourself, your friends and family, the people you meet, and for justice. Take the pledge — and make a pledge: Support Soulforce in Blogathon 2009.

Leave a Reply

