Prop 8: Activism Gets Personal

Though my wife can be a terror at times, I still like keeping her around as my spouse. This is also despite the fact that Andy Pugno of “Yes on 8” fully expects us to divorce: “if California goes as Massachusetts did after legalizing gay marriage, a substantial portion of the still-recognized gay marriages will be dissolved by divorce within a few years.”

No, I want don’t want a divorce; I want to return my marriage license. I’m now an owner of a document and a part of a system that specifically excludes a segment of the population, specifically my queer brethren. I’m ashamed to be a part of the California marriage system, and I want nothing to do with it until this discrepancy is fixed.

via Roots of Equality: Why I’d Like to Return My California Marriage License

Leave a Reply

