Action: Urge TN Committee to Add Gender Identity to Hate Crimes Statute

This week, one of the two major bills that the Tennessee Transgender Political Coalition has proposed this year will be before a House Subcommittee. This Wednesday, April 22, the House Criminal Practice Subcommittee will take up HB0335 by Jeanne Richardson (D-Memphis). This bill would add “gender identity or expression” to Tennessee’s hate crimes sentencing enhancement statute.

Please contact the members of the House Criminal Practice Subcommittee, and ask them to vote YES on HB0335:

Eric Watson (R-Cleveland), Chair, rep.eric.watson@capitol.tn.gov
Janis Sontany (D-Nashville), Vice-Chair,rep.janis.sontany@capitol.tn.gov
Eddie Bass (D-Prospect), rep.eddie.bass@capitol.tn.gov
Karen Camper (D-Memphis), rep.karen.camper@capitol.tn.gov
Chad Faulkner (R-Luttrell), rep.chad.faulkner@capitol.tn.gov
Judd Matheny (R-Tullahoma), rep.judd.matheny@capitol.tn.gov

The House Criminal Practice Subcommittee meets on Wednesday, April 22, at 12 Noon, in Legislative Plaza, Room 31.

Crossposted via Queers United and Tennessee Transgender Political Coalition.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s