Palin Amuses and Appalls in ABC News Interview

Sarah Palin hints that she’s planning her own presidential run in 2012 and says she doesn’t understand why more women won’t support her. Speaking in an interview with Elizabeth Vargas to be aired tonight on ABC News, the Alaska governor amuses and appalls:

She told Vargas she is “thinking that it’s going to go our way Tuesday, Nov. 4. I truly believe that the wisdom of the people will be revealed that day.”

Asked about 2012, and whether she was discouraged by the daily attacks on the campaign trail and would instead pack it in and return to her home state of Alaska, she said:

Undaunted, she vowed, “I’m not going to let the women of America down.”

“But you have to consider that there has been the constant barrage, a kind of spin on the my record or my positions,” Palin said. “Perhaps it would change someone’s perception.”

… When asked why women aren’t rallying to her, Palin said, “I don’t look at polls, so I would not be able to answer that.

“I think that if I were to give up and wave a white flag of surrender against some of the political shots that we’ve taken, that would bring this whole … I’m not doing this for naught,” Palin said.

 

Oh my god… She plans on being a maverick for us whether we like it or not.

Transcript excerpts here.

And a response of sorts, from the Feminist Peace Network:

Leave a Reply

