Donna Brazile Has Her Eye on the Future

donnabrazile.jpg

Democratic pundit and powerbroker Donna Brazile speaks against hate and division.

Wow. Donna Brazile, the Democratic pundit, Al Gore campaign manager, and former Clinton staffer, spoke out forcefully against those who would seek to divide the American people in their quest to win an election. This video comes from a fascinating panel called “If I Were Running this Campaign” at the recent New Yorker festival. The entire 80-minute discussion features a variety of voices, including CNN’s Alex Castellanos, Ed Rollins, and Joe Trippi, but Brazile is the one you really need to hear, especially in light of the posting that preceded this one (if you haven’t read it, please do, but hold on to your hat). She starts at the 1:12:10 mark. (Sorry, WordPress.com, my wanker of a webhost, won’t allow me to embed this video; you’ll have to use the link above to see the video.)

No time or bandwidth? Here’s an excerpt from the New Yorker‘s site:

I’m gonna say it and get it off my chest, because for the next 30 days, I’m gonna be the best Catholic woman ever….As a child who grew up in the segregated Deep South, we’ve come so far in this country….But I remember when I used to get on the bus: my mother would tell me, “Donna, when you get on the bus, you and your brothers go all the way to the back, and don’t look at anybody.” We have changed. This is a more tolerant, open, progressive society. And yet, we’re having this conversation because [Obama] is biracial. He spent nine months in the womb of a white woman. He was raised…by his white grandparents…He got out of school and went to Harvard, and all of a sudden he’s “uppity” and there’s something wrong with him? What is wrong with us?…You can vote against him, but don’t ever put me in the back of the bus. I’m not going to the back of the bus! I’m not going to be afraid! My black skin does not make me inferior! And may I add: being a female does not make me dumb!

…Don’t let people trick you, and distract you and divide you…Don’t let no one take us back! Because many of us are not going back—we’re going forward! And come with us!

Donna, baby, I am with you. Not going backward, no matter what, no way, no how.

Leave a Reply

